Six Nations law discussion: Should France's try against Italy have stood?

Attention was primarily focused on the dramatic last-minute kick by Paolo Garbisi and the technical details surrounding it. However, it is important to acknowledge that France was somewhat fortunate to still be in the running at that point. Not only because of their subpar performance compared to their usual high standards, and not just because Italy appeared rejuvenated and cohesive once again, but also due to the contentious nature of the sole try they scored. Charles Ollivon received an offload just a few meters from the goal line, falling towards it as he juggled the ball. There was no doubt about a knock-on as he gained control of the ball before any contact.

He fell short of the line, with his back towards the whitewash and the ball positioned behind his body in relation to the line. Ollivon then proceeded to twist his body and slide the ball across the turf and over the line to claim the touchdown. Referee Christophe Ridley, who had an overall exceptional performance, referred to the TMO for confirmation, ultimately ruling that a try had been scored but ensuring he checked for any potential knock-on. Italian fans disputed the decision, alleging that Ollivon lost control of the ball during his sliding motion and that moving the ball across the line was not permitted. The article then delves into a detailed discussion of the laws surrounding grounding a ball for a try, ultimately concluding that Ollivon's try should not have stood due to a technical infringement.

news flash