England v Wales: Was George Ford's denied conversion the correct call?
2024/02/12

ADVERTISEMENT

England fly-half George Ford expressed his confusion after Wales prevented him from completing a conversion during the Six Nations match at Twickenham. After falling behind 7-0 early in the game, Ford had the opportunity to level the scores with a straightforward conversion. However, when he approached the ball, Wales wing Rio Dyer sprinted forward and kicked it off the tee. Ford appealed to the referee, but his request to retake the conversion was denied. Ford, along with ITV pundits, questioned the decision, but former Wales fly-half Dan Biggar supported the referee's call. Meanwhile, former England fly-half Jonny Wilkinson believed Ford should have been allowed to retake the kick. The decision reached by the referee aligns with the clarification provided by World Rugby in 2020, stating that any movement by the kicker is deemed to be approaching to kick. Despite the missed conversion, England went on to win the match 16-14.

ADVERTISEMENT

AD
Article
Atlas
Videos
news flash